CAPE

Centre for Academic and Personal Excellence

MINUTES

Type of Meeting: Society Date: June 9, 2021 Page: 1/3 Initials: Board Chair____ Recording Secretary____ Approved: day, month, yr. Amended: day, month, yr Recorded by: Carmen Ressler

Annual General Board Meeting Wednesday, June 9, 2021

Present Janine Bide John Cherwonogrodzky Jayson O'Dell

Board Chair Vice Chair Member at Large

Trampas BrownAmanda SearsRyan PapoveMember at LargeMember at LargeMember at Large

Absent with regrets: **Ajay Mysore Narasimha**, Member at Large **Sarah Chaudhary**, Member at Large

ADMIN/REPS: Teresa Di Ninno (Superintendent), Carmen Ressler (Secretary-Treasurer), Jeney Gordon (Principal),

Joleine Hartman (Facility Manager), Stacey Roberts (Teacher Representative).

Absent with regrets:

Guests

- 1. **Welcome:** The Board Chair welcomed and introduced all attendees.
- **2.** Call to Order: Mrs. Janine Bide, Board Chair, called the meeting to order at approximately 7:15 p.m.
- 3. Appointment of Recording Secretary-Treasurer
 - **3.1 Motion 2021-6-9-1** Motion to appoint Carmen Ressler as recording secretary for the 2021 AGM. Moved: Jayson O'Dell / Seconded: Trampas Brown / Carried
- **4**. **Roll Call of Current Board Members:** Janine Bide, John Cherwonogrodzky, Jayson O'Dell, Sarah Chaudhary, Ajay Mysore Narasimha, Trampas Brown, Amanda Sears, Ryan Papove
- 5. Approval of Agenda:
 - 5.1 Motion 2021-6-9-2 Motion to approve the agenda for June 9, 2021.

Moved: Trampas Brown / Seconded Amanda Sears / Carried.

- 6. Adoption of the Minutes
 - 6.1 Motion 2021-6-9-3 Motion to approve the Minutes of the June 29, 2020 AGM.

Moved: Jayson O'Dell / Seconded: J. Cherwonogrodzky / Carried.

7. Action Items:

- **7.1.1 Motion 2021-6-9-4** Motion to receive the Audited Financial Statements for the 2019-2020 academic year. Moved: J. Cherwonogrodzky / Seconded: Trampas Brown / Carried.
- **7.1.2** No 2022/23 to 2024/25 CAPE Capital Plans developed.
- 7.1.3 Motion 2021-6-9-5 Motion to appoint MNP $_{\rm LLP}$ as the auditors for the 2021-2022 academic year.

Moved: Trampas Brown / Seconded: Jayson O'Dell / Carried.

8. Reports:

- 8.1 The Chair of the Board of Directors, Janine Bide, presented her report.
- 8.2 The Finance/Audit Committee report was presented by Carmen Ressler, Secretary-Treasurer.
- 8.3 The Principal, Jeney Gordon, presented highlights of her report.
- 8.4 The Director of Student Services Report (Linda Krochak) was presented.
- 8.5 The Teachers' Representative, Stacey Roberts, reviewed highlights of her report.
- 8.6 The Technology Report, presented by Cali Berard, was reviewed.
- 8.7 The Facility Manager's Report was presented by Joleine Hartman.
- 8.8 The School Council Report/Financial Statement, submitted by Carissa Goulard, was reviewed.
- 8.9 The Superintendent, Teresa Di Ninno, presented highlights of her report.
- 8.1.1 Motion 2021-6-9-6 Motion to accept all reports.

Moved: Amanda Sears / Seconded: J Ryan Papove / Carried.

9. Intend not to Stand for Election for 21/22 Board of Directors.

- a. Janine Bide
- **b.** John Cherwonogrodzky
- c. Amanda Sears

School Council Representative: to be elected/appointed at the September 2021 School Council AGM.

BOARD MINUTES: continued

Wednesday, June 9, 2021

Page: 3/3

10. Board of Directors Results for 2021/2022

Nomination forms have been received, and as the number of nomination received are below the maximum number of members, all those who returned the completed forms will make up the 21/22 CAPE Board of Directors, by acclamation.

Community Representatives:

1. Ryan Papove

Parent Representatives:

- 2. Trampas Brown
- 3. Sarah Chaudhary
- 4. Ajay Mysore Narasimha
- 5. Jayson O'Dell
- 6. Lekh Khadka
- 7. School Council Representative

10.1 Motion 2021-6-9-7 Motion to accept the Board of Directors 2021/2022, by acclamation

Moved: Amanda Sears / Seconded: J. O'Dell / Carried.

11. Election of Officers

11.1 Board Chair

Nomination: 1st, 2nd, and 3rd call to nominate Trampas Brown as Board Chair.

Motion 2021-6-9-8 Motion to appoint Trampas Brown as the CAPE Board Chair for the 2021-2022

year.

Moved: Jayson O'Dell / Seconded: Amanda Sears / Carried.

11.2 Board Vice-Chair TBD

11.3 Recording Secretary TBD

12. Committees

- **12.1** Finance committee will consist of Trampas Brown, Secretary-Treasurer, Peter Wallis, Mike Baker, and Teresa Di Ninno.
- 12.2 Technology committee will consist of Teresa Di Ninno, Trampas Brown, and Cali Berard.
- 12.3 Ad hoc committee will be structured as the need arises.
- 12. Date of the 2022 AGM will be determined in the spring of 2022.
- **13. Adjournment:** Janine Bide, Board Chair, adjourned the meeting at 8:18 p.m

Motion 2010-6-9-9 Motion to adjourn the meeting.

Moved: Trampas Brown / Seconded: Amanda Sears/ Carried.